Pumpkin Butterscotch Blondies

Three times. That’s the number of times I made these Pumpkin Blondies last week. Now before you go thinking that I ate three different batches, let me reassure you that I did not or I would probably still be recovering from a sugar coma.

Since I participated in the October Bakin’ Friends group and the secret ingredient was pumpkin. Beginning in September, Pinterest started to become inundated with pumpkin recipes, and I vowed I was going to avoid them all (with the exception of pumpkin pie.) September is barely autumn in my mind, and definitely much too early to become crazed with pumpkin recipes! But October, that I can handle!

This recipe was posted by The Baker Chick the day before the secret ingredient was revealed, and when I started thinking about what I could possibly make, it haunted me. Pumpkin + butterscotch? Quite possibly heaven!

The day before my Bakin’ Friends package was due in the mail, I whipped these up (super easy by the way!) However, when I checked on them in the oven, I assumed that a clean toothpick meant they were done, if not a little overdone. In reality, this means that they are underdone. They were super gooey and moist, and everyone that tried them raved about them. I was too worried that a trip through the mail might result in tragedy. Hence batch #2!

For the second batch, I decided to try them with white chocolate chips. Butterscotch was a complete success, but I wasn’t too sure than dark/milk chocolate would go too well with pumpkin. Sure, there are lots of recipes out there that combine the two, and I may very well give one a try, but I wasn’t willing to risk it. And this time, I let them bake just a little bit longer, noticing that this time my toothpick came out with some moist crumbs attached.

Out of the two, butterscotch was my favorite and what I used for the third batch. Since I didn’t like them as much when they were more cake-like, I under-baked them again, but not by as much as the first batch. These are ridiculously easy to make, I promise, and they taste absolutely wonderful! If you want them a little on the underdone side so that they are moist and gooey, check them at around 35 minutes. The sides should be a light golden brown and a toothpick inserted into the middle should come out clean. For a more airy and cake-like blondie, check them around 40 minutes. Again, the sides will be a light golden brown but your toothpick should come out with a few moist crumbs.

Pumpkin Butterscotch Blondies
Recipe Source: The Baker Chick
Makes 24 blondies

Ingredients:

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 tablespoon pumpkin pie spice

1 teaspoon baking soda

3/4 teaspoon salt

2 sticks unsalted butter, room temp

1 & 1/4 cups sugar

1 large egg

2 teaspoons vanilla

1 cup canned pumpkin puree

1 package (12 oz.) butterscotch chips (or other flavored chips/nuts)

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line a 9 x 13-inch pan with tin foil, leaving overhang on the sides .

2. In a bowl, whisk together the flour, pie spice, baking soda and salt. Set aside.

3. With an electric mixer, cream together the butter and sugar on medium-high speed until smooth. Add in the egg and vanilla until combined. Beat in the pumpkin puree (don’t worry if the mixture looks curdled.) Reduce speed to low and beat in the dry ingredients just until combined. Fold in the butterscotch chips and any flour that may have settled on the bottom.

4. Spread batter evenly with an offset spatula in prepared pan. Bake until a toothpick comes out clean (for moist blondies) or with a few moist crumbs attached (for a more cake-like consistency), about 35-40 minutes. Cool completely in the pan.

5. Once cool, lift out of pan (using tinfoil to help) and cut into squares with a serrated knife.

One comment

  1. Pingback: October Bakin’ Friends and Foodie Pen Pals «

Leave a Reply

