Butter Cream Truffles

The holidays are always my favorite time of year because of all the baking I intend to get done. This last year, my wish list included butter cream truffles. As a kid, I used to love when my mom would bring home boxes of chocolates. I loved studying their little chocolate maps, snatching up the flavored butter creams before any one else could get to them first!

With so many chocolate companies selling flavored butter creams, I initially thought it would be easy to find a recipe. I knew the texture I wanted: a smooth and creamy fondant-like center. And after searching on and off for weeks, I finally found a recipe worth trying, which worked out beautifully! I ended up making four different flavors: orange, strawberry, cherry and raspberry. As I predicted, orange and raspberry stole the spotlight!

These are simple to make but will require a trip to a local cake supply shop. Don’t let that deter you though! These are nothing short of A-M-AZ-I-N-G! Honest! You will never want a box of store bought cream truffles again!

Butter Cream Truffles
Barely Adapted From: Fledgling Foodie
Makes approximately 60 truffles, depending on size

Ingredients:

1 pound of good quality chocolate candy coating (I used Merkens, available at cake supply stores)

1 pound of dry fondant (make sure the ingredient list includes “inverted sugar”)

1/3 cup unsalted butter

2-3 tablespoons water

1/2 teaspoon invertase (this makes fondant creamy!)

flavoring oil

food coloring

Directions:

1. Melt candy coating in a double boiler or a bowl set over simmering water. Heat until melted (should be warm, not hot!) Prepare a cookie sheet by lining with parchment paper.

2. Combine dry fondant, butter, and water in a small saucepan over medium-low heat until butter is melted and mixture is smooth. (Mixture should be warm, not hot.)

3. Remove from heat and add in the invertase. (If your fondant does not contain inverted sugar, you can increase the amount of invertase.) Combine with either a wooden spoon or your hands until smooth and creamy.

4. If making more than one flavor, divide the butter cream among bowls. Add flavoring oil to taste (I divided my batch into four flavors and most used about 16 drops per flavor) and coloring of choice.

5. Roll fondant into balls and dip in chocolate coating. Set on parchment lined sheet to harden. (For a uniform look, you could also use a mold.)

6. Store in an airtight container at room temp for a couple of weeks, or in the fridge for up to one month.

Leave a Reply

