Applesauce Oatmeal Breakfast Cookies

Applesauce Oatmeal Breakfast Cookies | Butter and Sprinkles

Our secret ingredient for January was applesauce – the perfect choice for a month full of brand new resolutions to eat better! This month, my bakin’ friend was Tami, who not only sent my these wonderful applesauce oatmeal breakfast cookies, but some local Fidalgo Bay coffee as well!

Applesauce Oatmeal Breakfast Cookies | Butter and Sprinkles

This package was probably the most wonderful smelling one I have received yet, all thanks to the banana in these oatmeal breakfast cookies. I knew I had to try one even though we had just finished dinner.

Applesauce Oatmeal Breakfast Cookies | Butter and Sprinkles

They are so moist and the dried fruits are a wonderful addition. Thankfully, I think my husband doesn’t care for some of the dried fruit so these babies are all mine! And I can honestly tell you that they freeze beautifully! Just pop them in the microwave for about 30 seconds and you are good to go!

Applesauce Oatmeal Breakfast Cookies | Butter and Sprinkles

I’ve not yet made a batch since I have about half of them sitting in my freezer, but they sound extremely easy. Plus, you can customize them by adding whatever dried fruits you would like, or maybe some chocolate chips!

Applesauce Oatmeal Breakfast Cookies
Adapted from Food Doodles
Makes 10-12 breakfast cookies

Ingredients:

1 cup unsweetened applesauce
1 cup (about 2 large) ripe bananas, mashed
2 tablespoons maple syrup
1 and 1/2 cups dried fruit (e.g. apricots, figs, and cranberries)
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 and 1/2 cups old-fashioned oats

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
2. Mix all ingredients together in a medium bowl.
3. Using a 1/2 cup measuring cup, drop mounds onto baking sheet lined with parchment paper. (Since they won’t spread much, they can be placed close together). Pat down mounds slightly and press sides slightly with a spoon to make sure they hold together.
4. Bake for 30 minutes, rotating once halfway through. Let rest on the cookie sheet for 5-10 minutes before removing to a cooling rack.

If you’d like to be a part of the Bakin’ Friends group, head over and sign up! Every month is a new ingredient, and who doesn’t like getting a box of goodies in the mail?!

5 comments

  1. fun! I mailed to Tami and discovered we are practically neighbors! I have had Fidalgo coffee..how nice of her to include it!

  2. Oh my gosh! I don’t know if I’ve ever seen anything like these!! Sounds heavenly!

  3. Cookies for breakfast are the best! Great thing to get from your bakin’ friend

Leave a Reply

