Basic Cake Decorating – Piping Techniques

I wish my phone had better lighting in our dinky little cake decorating classroom because I was seriously proud of this cake, even with it’s many flaws.

It was interesting to keep layering designs on top of one another.  First ruffle swag, then tiny e-motion and shells above the swag, followed by fleur di lis and a bottom shell border. We also got to play around with adding in our own elements, which I chose to keep simple.

We also practiced piping initials and scroll work, which is not my forte as you can see from the weird open heart design. I don’t consider myself to be very creative, so I foresee lots of internet searches on various fonts and scroll designs!

Next class: mixing colors and learning to pipe various flowers!

Leave a Reply

