Buttercream Wedding Cake

Buttercream Wedding Cake | Butter and Sprinkles

Things are starting to get real around here.

Due to my work schedules, I was only able to sign up for one class this semester, so I made the leap and chose Wedding Cake Design. I was afraid to leave cakes behind for several months and lose some of what I had learned last semester, so in that respect it was a wise choice. On the other hand, however, the weather has not been kind to us this winter. Our first class was canceled and we were off for MLK day a couple weeks later, so we’ve been a bit crunched to fit everything in.

This cake was made of three tiers: 3″, 6″ and 9″. We all learned quite rapidly that a 3″ cake is ridiculously difficult to cover. Imagine frosting two cupcakes stacked on top of each other, as that was basically what it was structurally. Not fun!

I stayed pretty simple in my design: swiss dots on the top and bottom tiers, swags and dots on the middle, and a basic bead border on all of them. The flowers were red wild roses that I picked up at Trader Joe’s for fairly cheap. (I know where I’ll be buying future flowers!)

Leave a Reply

